Tickets to see Grease at Križanke must be exchanged for new tickets.

RTV Slovenija Symphony Orchestra

Closing of the 31st Slovenian Music Days

19. April 2016
Slovenian Philharmonic, Marjan Kozina Hall

Soloists: Lovorka Nemeš Dular, piano; Karmen Pečar, cello Conductor: Živa Ploj Peršuh Programme: Janez Matičič (1926): Suite for Strings (1955) J. Matičič: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 (1965) J. Matičič:  Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (2003) J. Matičič: Danses Grotesques / orchestra version (1959/2016) The concert is a tribute to Janez Matičič, who will celebrate his 90th birthday this June. Despite his advanced years, he brims with playful spirit and creativity. The well-rounded concert programme features a wide range of pieces from Matičič’s prolific and diverse creative life: from one of his first orchestra compositions to a premiere of a newly orchestrated piece. Matičič has always had a great love for piano, and has established himself as an excellent piano player and one of the most prominent Slovenian piano composers. The Concerto for Piano No. 1 was first performed in Paris, where Matičič moved in 1959 and was active for several years: he perfected his modern composition skills under the tutelage of the renowned Nadia Boulanger, studied electroacoustic music at the Groupe de Recherches Musicales, led by Pierre Schaeffer, and also taught at several Parisian conservatories. After graduating from the Ljubljana Academy of Music in music composition and conducting, Matičič composed the four-movement Suite for Strings before he left for Paris. His first Parisian work was the Danses Grotesques. Although initially composed for the piano, Matičič arranged this piece of music for the symphonic orchestra specifically for this occasion, staying faithful to the piano original. The most recent of Matičič’s solo concertos, the Concerto for Cello, was premiered in 2004 by RTV Slovenia Symphonic Orchestra, which this season celebrates its 60th anniversary. This evening dedicated to Matičič will see the conductor Živa Ploj Peršuh on the podium, while the concertos will be soloed by the young yet seasoned musicians Lovorka Nemeš Dular on piano and Karmen Pečar on cello, both of whom are active performers and teachers.

During the interval, a conversation with composer Janez Matičič will take place in the Marjan Kozina Hall. The conversation will be moderated by Primož Trdan.

Free entrance (tickests available at the Križanke Box Office)

Read more ⇓ Read less ⇑
Share event
Free entrance
Free entrance

Event highlights